4 the World blog

Empowering collaborative communities

Footballs and Bibles

Leave a comment

children in Ghana with SheaWhen I was in Ghana, a little boy about 8 years old approached me and said, “Obruni (meaning white person but not in a disrespectful way), we need Bibles and footballs.”  His appeal was so confidently spoken and so utterly adorable, I had to oblige.  I bought the children 2 rubber balls from the street-side vendor, which popped in a matter of seconds on the rocky field.  After my next trip into the city Accra, I brought 2 quality soccer balls and hard cover Bibles.

If you had to narrow down your entire household to 2 items that would be your family’s only possessions, what would they be?  I think a soccer ball and a Bible nail it on the head for my family!  For me personally, a Bible and my tennis shoes would be all I really needed.

If you are traveling overseas, there are plenty of great gift ideas that fit in your suitcase to take with you.  Or, send these items to me and our team will take them to Belize this August.

  • Shoes
  • Textbooks
  • Children’s books and magazines
  • Nonfiction books
  • Caps and visors
  • Solar lanterns
  • Solar flashlights
  • Crayons
  • Pencils
  • Notebooks
  • Frisbees
  • Jump ropes
  • Mosquito nets
  • Plastic Tumblers
  • Eating utensils
and of course
  • Balls
  • Bibles
Author: 4 the World

4 the World identifies and collaborates with communities across the globe to empower them to identify and solve the most pressing needs of their communities within the areas of health and education. By partnering with the communities in these areas, we provide critical support and capacity-building initiatives to ensure these communities are capable of continuing to grow and thrive in the future.

Leave a Reply

