4 the World blog

Empowering collaborative communities

How to Vote?

1 Comment

If I 20121025-103358.jpgsee one more negative political ad, I am going to vote for the opponent! I’m so fed up!  But then, the very next ad is negative from the opponent. What to do? Deciding who to vote for is not a party affiliated decision for me, and this can make elections very overwhelming. This year more voters than ever seem undecided.

Not knowing where to start this year, I asked the two best decision makers in my life, my mother and mother-in-law, how they make important decisions, like who to vote for.  They both said the same thing; align your decision to your passion.  That is exactly what I propose those still undecided do for the presidential election.  Vote according to your area of passion.

That means first, one must determine one’s passion. If you’re not sure, think about what you were doing the last time you lost track of time. For me that’s teaching. Passion can be what you love, but it can also be what you hate. For example, I hate how drugs destroy families so one of my passions is drug rehabilitation. Now, I can look at each candidate’s position on education and substance abuse programs and make a decision based on areas I am knowledgeable about and care deeply about.  If everyone did this, then we as the nation would collectively make a very informed decision, and doing my part, rather than trying to tackle it all, makes the decision feel like a vote of confidence not an educated guess.

Author: 4 the World

4 the World identifies and collaborates with communities across the globe to empower them to identify and solve the most pressing needs of their communities within the areas of health and education. By partnering with the communities in these areas, we provide critical support and capacity-building initiatives to ensure these communities are capable of continuing to grow and thrive in the future.

One thought on “How to Vote?

  1. I don’t think I ever thought about elections in that way. I think this is an excellent method for voting because there are so many issues to keep track of, so focusing on your passions makes everything so much easier. Thank you for sharing your mother and mother-in-law’s words of wisdom.

Leave a Reply

